Basics basics basics

I thought I would share a conversation I am having with one of my students (Ben the Undersided). He has been very focused on his training and is reaching a point were other people are starting to take a little notice. This notice then comes with offers of advice, “you should do this, have you thought about the other thing…”
In the meantime I have been trying to get my students to stick to the basics or fundamentals and not been too keen to branch out yet.
What is also interesting is Ben’s subsequent comment about this realisation has moved from something he knew in an intellectual sense to now being able to now comprehend at a deeper level.

So anyway here is B’s thoughts on focusing on your basics.


I know I’m flogging a dead horse on this, I sort of had mental/physical epiphany this morning and I needed to share it (and thus understand it better).

If you can’t get the basics to work properly, you’re wasting your time trying to do anything else. Especially in practice. I think too many people are overlooking this.

Years, and years, our sensei (previous Japanese martial art) yelled at us basics basics basics. Because his sensei yelled at him the same. It’s a fact of life. But sensei said it took him years to genuinely understand the importance.

When I joined the SCA, by rote, I sort of knew to focus on basics. So I have, even more so recently.
We have to train these basics to a point where we no longer need to actively think about them.

Now, we all know this is because footwork, timing and technique are basis of all fighting, blah blah martial arts 101. These are what keep your alive, and guarantees the other guy will die.
What occurred to me is the importance of having these for learning capacity, as a beginner.
If you are having to concentrate on the footwork, measure, timing, technique (guard positions & striking) – you leave little mental capacity to concentrate on learning anything more complex on top of this. The moment you try to concentrate on something more complex, you’re having to let those basics run unconsciously. If you stuff so much as one little thing up, whatever is you’re doing will probably fail. That could be the basics, or what it is you’re trying.

As a beginner, 99% time one of your basics are going to fail if left to their own devices. i.e not get the frame-weight transfer on the shot, drop your shield, not get the line etc. If your opponent’s basics are working properly (due concentration or practice) – you’re ‘toasted’ as Count Felix says. Because if I’ve faced the weapon, sitting in a good guard, in control of the measure, I can cover that attack and fire a shot in to whatever gap/line/timing you’ve left open by mistake – potentially without even thinking.

That idea that in the fight, I’m looking to exploit the mistakes (or weaknesses) of my opponent as are they. The more mistakes I make and then offer to my opponent, the more they have to exploit. And the sooner I die.

I can force those mistakes (by misdirection) or encourage my opponent to take actions that are susceptible to mistakes – this is however more advanced. But all that is futile if I’m presenting a mistake from the engagement – because he’s going to toast me from the get go with something basic.

So for us beginners, we need to be getting that focus and training with respect to our basics. Without that solid foundation of fundamental basics skills which can function autonomously – we’re not able to apply the more advanced stuff in combat beyond luck.

Most of this was has been provoked by something (another combatant) was trying to show me. I immediately understood what he was up to (effectively fighting from the bind, but with sword & shield), but it occurred to me that it was a waste of time to practice at my level – there’s other more basic things I needed to focus on. If I did that to you, I’d die in a heartbeat.

One thought on “Basics basics basics

  1. Alonya

    I have been dancing since I was about 2. I am now 43, so that is kind of a long time to have been at one hobby.
    When ever I dance (especially the areas I formally trained in), I always revert to the basics. The absolute basics of body positioning, steps, head and arm movements become second nature. When I dance now, I use the basics to warm up to specifically. These are a diagnosis tool and are very important, especially when going into a competition. Warm up dances of just basics can be extremely important in a competition/tournament setting. I also use the basics to assess my partner. Are they unwell and do I need to pick up my game and help them?

    In a fencing setting I use the basics (which I am still learning) in much the same manner, though the application is a little different. If I am fencing on a crap surface such as a horse paddocks with divots in, I will use the basic footwork only and not attempt anything more advanced that may have me flat on my back with a broken ankle. I also pull back the fancier sword actions that demand fancier footwork. So the basics can be applied to physical safety also.

    Basics are fantastic when you are sick and don’t want to be there. Imagine the scene, you have travelled 1200km to an event and you get sick. Because you do not want to spend excess energy, your fighting tightens up and your movements become super efficient and you start to realise that you are cutting a swathe to the final 2. You’re fighting your best when you are sick. Well practiced basics and keeping it simple can give you the advantage that others may not see. Being sick, well practiced basics, and tunnel vision (that can happen when you are sick) is a formidable combination.

    The basics are like good undergarments for Tudor fashion, they are the thing that everything hangs off and if they do not fit right, nothing else will fall into place either.

Leave a comment